Pilgrims arrive at Kings Somborne!

Our three Pilgrims have arrived at their first destination – Kings Somborne – and I have been told that their accommodation is lovely with showers, and croissants for the morning!  I hope that our Pilgrims progress to the River Itchen tomorrow goes as well as the start of their journey!

In St Thomas’s this morning we sung this hymn (though probably not loud enough for our own pilgrims to hear – but only just!)

A hymn of pilgrimage 

Guide me, O thou great Redeemer, 

Pilgrim through this barren land; 

I am weak, but thou art mighty, 

Hold me with they powerful hand: 

Bread of heaven, 

Feed me till I want no more 

Open now the crystal fountain 

Whence the healing stream doth flow; 

Let the fire and cloudy pillar 

Lead me all my journey through: 

Strong deliverer, 

Be thou still my strength and shield. 

When I tread the verge of Jordan, 

Bid my anxious fears subside; 

Death of death, and hell’s Destruction 

Land me safe on Canaan’s side: 

Songs and praises 

I will ever give to thee.

cockle

Leave a Reply

